PUTRAJAYA,Sept 28: Four Sabah districts – Lahad Datu, Tawau, Kunak and Semporna – will be placed under a targeted enhanced movement control order (TEMCO) from midnight to Oct 12.

In a statement, Senior Minister for Security Ismail Sabri Yaakob said residents in these areas will not be allowed to leave the districts and outsiders will not be allowed in.

He said the government made the decision on the advice of the health ministry after 1,195 Covid-19 cases were recorded in the four districts since the beginning of the month.

The lockdown in the four districts will involve 962,661 people.

On top of travel restrictions on going in and out of the districts, all business activities with the exception of premises providing essential goods and services, are ordered to close.

“Medical bases will be set up at each district and all roads leading to the districts will be closed,” he said.

Ismail said security forces including police, the armed forces and civil defence force will secure the districts.

“All residents are urged to remain calm and cooperate with health workers and abide by the authorities’ instructions,” he said.

For assistance and information, residents may contact the district police headquarters at these numbers: Lahad Datu (089-881255), Tawau (089-752222), Kunak (089-851222) and Semporna (089-782020).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here