SINGAPORE, Oct 2 — Singapore will reduce the COVID-19 quarantine period for travellers from high risk countries or region to 10 days from 14 days beginning Oct 7, 2021 as the Delta variant has a shorter incubation period.

Since late-June 2021, the republic had required travellers with recent travel history to high risk – Category III and IV – countries or regions to serve a 14-day Stay-Home Notice (SHN) which accounted for the maximum COVID-19 incubation period.

Malaysia is one of the countries currently placed under Category IV.

According to the republic’s Multi-Ministry Taskforce (MTF) on COVID-19, the republic is also revising from Oct 7 the consecutive travel history to 14 days from 21 days, including transits en route to Singapore and duration in Singapore prior to their travel.

However, this excludes bilaterally negotiated travel lanes such as Reciprocal Green Lane (RGL) which Malaysia also has with Singapore.

The Taskforce said the travellers will undergo a COVID-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on-arrival and on Day 10, and self-administered Antigen Rapid Test (ART) tests on Days 3 and 7.

They end their SHN when they have a negative result for their PCR test on Day 10, said the MTF.

The charges for 10-day SHN at dedicated SHN facilities is S$1,450.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here