IPOH, March 1 – Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad has confirmed that he will remain as Lenggong UMNO division head as there were no challengers for the post in the party’s polls.

Saarani, who is also the state UMNO Liaison chief, said he was informed that the Lenggong UMNO division will only see contests at the Wanita (women’s wing) level and for the Deputy Permanent Chairman post.

“For the Wanita chief post there are two candidates, the same for the Wanita vice head post while there are many for committee member seats .

“There is no contest for the Permanent Chairman post, for Deputy Permanent chairman two candidates,” he told reporters after attending the Perak Sejahtera Publication Grant 2030 presentation ceremony here today.

Meanwhile, he said Perak UMNO will support candidates from the state who have submitted nominations for seats in the party’s Supreme Council (MT).

They are MT members Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir and Datuk Seri Shamsul Anuar Nasarah, former UMNO Youth vice head Khairul Azwan Harun, Perak UMNO Youth chief Datuk Mohd Ariff Abdul Majid and Beruas UMNO division head Datuk Dr Azhar Ahmad.

Meanwhile, in SELANGOR, former Selangor Menteri Besar Dr Mohamad Khir Toyo is challenging the incumbent head of of the Sungai Besar UMNO division, Datuk Seri Jamal Md Yunos, for the post, according to Selangor UMNO Liaison Committee treasurer Datuk Kamaruzzaman Johari.

Apart from that , he said former state executive councillor Datuk Abdul Fatah Iskandar is also trying to make a comeback by offering himself for the Kuala Langat UMNO division chief post against the incumbent, Datuk Zurihan Yusop.

According to him, Minister of International Trade and Industry Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz won the Kota Raja UMNO division chief post unopposed while Hulu Langat UMNO division chief Datuk Johan Abd Aziz remained in the position as there were no challengers.

“Selangor UMNO is seeing a four-cornered fight to head the Kuala Selangor and Puchong divisions, three-cornered contests for the Hulu Selangor, Petaling Jaya and Shah Alam division chief posts while 15 divisions are having straight fights for the top post,” he told Bernama.

Kamaruzzaman said seven individuals are in the running for the MT seats, namely Tengku Zafrul, Jamal, Johan, Hulu Selangor division head Datuk Mat Nadzari Ahmad Dahlan, Wanita UMNO secretary Datuk Rosni Sohar, UMNO Information Chief Isham Jalil and Puteri UMNO head Datuk Zahida Zarikh Khan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here