PETALING JAYA, July 16: PPBM president Muhyiddin Yassin is expected to retain his position with no contenders for the top post in the upcoming party elections.

According to a list released by the PPBM election committee, there is also no contest for the position of deputy president, with Perak Menteri Besar Ahmad Faizal Azumu listed as the sole candidate.

Meanwhile, there is no candidate listed for the chairman’s post which was previously held by PPBM founder Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Mahathir, the former prime minister, was sacked by the party alongside several other leaders aligned with him including his son Mukhriz Mahathir (PPBM deputy president), Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (PPBM Youth chief), Amiruddin Hamzah and Maszlee Malik (Supreme Council members)

Until his ouster, he was expected to defend his chairman’s post while Mukhriz was to take on Muhyiddin.

The vice-president’s post will be contested by 17 people including Beluran MP Ronald Kiandee, Johor PPBM chief Mazlan Bujang, Education Minister Radzi Jidin and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Redzuan Yusof.

The contest for the post of PPBM Youth chief meanwhile is a two-horse race between Deputy Youth and Sports Minister Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal and PPBM Youth exco Mohd Muzammil Ismail.

Four women will be contesting the position of women’s chief, including Women, Family and Community Development Minister Rina Harun.

As for the contest for a seat on the Supreme Council, 163 people will be vying for a spot.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here