KOTA KINABALU, Sept 12 — The Sabah state election begins today with the nomination  process, which is scheduled for an hour starting at 9 am without any objection period.

A total of 73 nomination centres including community halls and schools are provided for this purpose.

The election will witness candidates contesting in 73 state seats, including 13 new seats.

The Election Commission (EC) had fixed polling day on Sept 26 and early voting on Sept 22.

A total of 1.12 million voters are eligible to vote in the election.

Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal announced the dissolution of the state Legislative Assembly on July 30 to pave the way for a state election, a day after former chief minister Tan Sri Musa Aman claimed he had enough majority to take over the state government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here