KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 27 (Bernama) — Gabungan Rakyat Sabah’s (GRS) victory in the Sabah election was celebrated with leaders of Perikatan Nasioal (PN) and Barisan Nasional (BN) uploading congratulatory wishes on social media today.

GRS consists of PN, BN and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS).

They also thanked the people of Sabah for exercising their rights and responsibilities as voters.

PN information chief Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali said the people’s mandate has enabled GRS to form a new government in Sabah.

“Amanah rakyat ini kami sama-sama pikul di bawah kepimpinan (Perdana Menteri) Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (We will honour the trust of the people under the leadership of (Prime Minister) Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin),” said Mohamed Azmin who is also Senior Minister and Minister of International Trade and Industry in his Twitter post.

PAS President Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang in a post on his Facebook page thanked the voters for the trust given to GRS.

He also reminded the elected representatives to fulfil their responsibilities well for the good of religion, race and country.

“God willing, PAS will also contribute in an effort to strengthen unity and protect the well-being of the people together,” he said.

MCA President Wee Ka Siong also congratulated GRS on receiving a new mandate from Sabahans to form a government.

“Congratulations to all GRS candidates consisting of BN, PN and PBS who won in the 16th Sabah election,” Wee, who is also Transport Minister, said on his Facebook page.

He said although the Sabah election decision this time was not in favour of MCA, the party would take steps to overcome its weaknesses.

“MCA will conduct a post-mortem and is determined to improve all shortcomings,” he said, while expressing appreciation to the MCA machinery who worked hard to campaign in the four constituencies contested by the party. 

Meanwhile, Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said GRS’ victory in the state election was meaningful.

“Insya-Allah, ia @barisanasional akan manfaatkan sepenuhnya demi membalas kepercayaan seluruh rakyat Sabah. Alhamdulillah. Terima kasih semua. #RaduTatapRadu! #PRNSabah,” he said on his Twitter page which is loosely translated as (“God willing, it @barisanasional will return the trust of all Sabahans. All praises be to Allah. Thank you all. #RaduTatapRadu! #PRNSabah).

Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation Khairy Jamaluddin, meanwhile, expressed his appreciation to Parti Warisan Sabah president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal for the healthy competition in the election. 

“Thank you to @mohdshafieapdal for a well-fought campaign. You will always be my friend. The voters of Sabah have spoken. We must do justice to their hopes of a fairer union. Radu sampai menang (strive to the end),” he said.

Youth and Sports deputy minister, Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal who is also Angkatan Bersatu Anak Muda (Armada) Chief said GRS’ victory proved the people’s confidence in Muhyiddin’s leadership as prime minister.

He also congratulated Sabah Bersatu Armada Chief Fairuz Renddan, who won the Pintasan state seat.

GRS won 38 of the 73 seats contested in the state election.

PN won 17 seats, BN secured 14 seats while PBS won seven seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here