PETALING JAYA, Oct 8: The education ministry has announced that all schools in districts classified as red zones will be closed.

Schools in Klang, in Selangor, and Sandakan, Papar and Tuaran in Sabah will be closed from Oct 8 to Oct 23.

The closure will affect 142 schools in Klang and 242 schools in the three districts in Sabah, including primary and secondary schools, both public and private.

Schools with dormitories, including vocational colleges, will also be shut.

“Students residing in dormitories will need to be brought home by their parents or caretakers.

“However, students waiting to be picked up or who want to stay at their dormitories throughout the school’s closure may do so under the care of the dormitory warden,” it said in a statement.

The ministry added that the daily meals for these students will be provided by the school.

It said headmasters would ensure that teachers conducted lessons throughout this period.

It also said schools which were supposed to be conducting the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) trials during this period could schedule it for a later date.

“The education ministry is aware that parents and those in schools are worried about the current Covid-19 surge.

“The education ministry will be monitoring the situation for the entire country and will work closely with the National Security Council and health ministry,” it said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here