PETALING JAYA,Mar 18: Barisan Nasional has agreed to set up a special task force to monitor the Perikatan Nasional government’s services, covering five different areas.

The surprise name in the task force is former second finance minister and FT Umno chief Johari Abdul Ghani.

Others heading the different teams in the task force include Dewan Rakyat deputy speaker Azalina Othman Said and former education minister and current TNB chairman Mahdzir Khalid, who is also an Umno vice-president.

Also on the list is Richard Kastum@Mosinal of Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS).

In a statement, BN executive secretary Mohamad Sahfri Ab Aziz said a meeting was held on March 3 on the matter, and the different teams were agreed upon by the coalition.

“The task force will act as a check and balance on behalf of the government on the services provided,” he said.

The five special teams and their leaders are:

  • Education team head: Mahdzir Khalid (Umno)
  • Economic team head: Johari Abdul Ghani (Umno)
  • Law and democracy team head: Azalina Othman Said (Umno)
  • National Unity team head: Richard Kastum@Mosinal (PBRS)
  • Automatic 18-year-old voting team head: Sivarraajh Chandran (MIC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here