ARAU, May 17 — The recipients of the Perlis state awards and medals conferred in conjunction with the 79th Birthday of the Raja of Perlis Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail, have been motivated to continue to serve the people in the state.

Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) board of governors chairman Datuk Dr Awang Adek Hussin Awang Adek who received the Darjah Seri Paduka Mahkota Perlis (SPMP) award expressed his pride in the recognition.

He said the award inspired him to devote himself to the state while maintaining his integrity as the recipient of the award.

“As Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin said, I hope other award recipients can maintain their integrity so as not to taint the award’s good name,” he told Bernama after the award presentation ceremony at Istana Arau here today.

Meanwhile, Prima Group Sdn Bhd director Tan Sri Mohd Ariffin Mohd Yusuf said he was honoured when his contributions to the state of Perlis were recognised through the conferment of the SPMP award which carries the title ‘Datuk Seri.’

Mohd Ariffin said he had previously served in the Perlis Islamic Religious and Malay Customs Council (MAIPs) and also contributed to the construction of several mosques in the state with his family members.

“My siblings and I had previously contributed to the construction of the Al Husin Mosque, Kuala Perlis which is more well-known as the floating mosque, which was done not to receive accolades but only because of Allah,” he said.

Meanwhile, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs (KPDNHEP) secretary-general Datuk Azman Mohd Yusof, who had also served as the Perlis state secretary said receiving the Darjah Dato’ Paduka Mahkota Perlis (DPMP) award was indeed a boost for his morale to continue to give his best to the state.

“I believe Perlis will continue to prosper because we have a good state government machinery that can continue to develop the state,” he added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here