SHAH ALAM, Nov 3 — Selangor Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Tan Sri Noh Omar tonight handed out appointment letters to 21 of the 22 candidates who will be contesting for Parliamentary seats in Selangor during the 15th General Election (GE15).

Noh Omar whose name was not on the list of candidates despite winning the Tanjong Karang seat for six terms, said the BN headquarters have yet to send the letter of appointment for Datuk Habibah Mohd Yusof who was named as the candidate to replace him.

“The number of letters I have tonight is only 21. I have not received the letter of appointment for Tanjong Karang,” he told reporters after handing out the letters to candidates, here tonight.

According to Noh Omar, before the announcement of BN candidates on Tuesday, he had discussed with BN chairman Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi about a resolution and memorandum from the Tanjong Karang UMNO division requesting him to remain as the candidate.

“I said I was carrying a letter that contained the voice of the people who regard me as a ‘WALI” — “winnability, acceptability, likeability” candidate and we have discussed with the president and listed out the reasons for the request,” he said.

Asked if he would remain in BN even though he was not named as a candidate for BN in the GE15, Noh Omar said “Wait for Tomorrow”. 

Earlier in his speech, Noh Omar said the 22 BN candidates listed in Selangor comprise all levels of the leadership, among them Finance Minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz, Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin and UMNO Supreme Council member Hizatul Isham Abdul Jalil.

“I hope all candidates will become icons, especially to the young voters who make up a large portion of voters. We hope these voters will have a change of heart and return to support BN,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here