KUALA LUMPUR, July 15 — Datuk Dr Dominic Lau Hoe Chai was re-elected as Gerakan president for the 2023-2026 term during the party election at Menara PGRM, Cheras today.

Dominic garnered 429 votes to defeat his three challengers – former vice-president Datuk Seri Michael Gan Peng Lam (76 votes), former party secretary-general Datuk Liang Teck Meng (275 votes) and Federal Territory Gerakan chairman Datuk Lau Hoi Keong (335 votes).

Oh Tong Keong retained the deputy president’s post when he obtained 546 votes to defeat Mak Kah Keong (468 votes), Dr Kiew Hen Chong (91 votes) and V. Prabagaran (no votes). 

The three vice-presidents for the 2023-2026 terms will be Koo Shiaw Lee, who got 999 votes, Datuk Baljit Singh Jigiri Singh (982 votes) and Datuk Alexander Lo Su Hyen (577 votes).

Gerakan election supervisory committee officer Soo Kay Ping announced the official results at about 7.30 pm.

Commenting on his victory, Lau hoped that all parties will accept the results with an open heart to enable them to continue to be united as a team in facing the coming elections in six states.

“Irrespective of victory or defeat, we must be united as a team to win the coming state polls because that is the most important agenda and I also hope that, with the mandate given, we can restore Gerakan’s image among the people,” he said.

Meanwhile, the 18 Central Committee members elected are Woo Cheong Yuen, Hng Chee Wey, Tan Lee Ngee, Loh Kah Yong, Tan Po Kiat, Ch’ng Boon Chye, Sin Koon Yen, Datuk Seri Chandra Balabedha, Chai Ko Thing, Jimmy Chew Jyh Gang, Dennis Gau Thau Onn, Lee Boon Shian, Datuk Tan Chin Hock, Syed Nor Azman Syed Daros, Ooi Pei Nar, Puvaniten M. Helan Govan, Teoh Chin Wan and Gan Kim Keng.

Chung Mon Sie and Wong Chia Zhen won the Women’s and Youth wings’ top posts uncontested.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here