KUALA LUMPUR, June 26 — The government will impose the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) in five localities in Sabah and two localities in Pahang, from June 28 to July 11, said Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

He said that the EMCO in Sabah involved the Kepayan Prison in Kota Kinabalu; Bell Palm Oil Mill (including factory housing) in Kinabatangan; Kampung Tuunon in Penampang; Kampung Perpaduan Ria 1 in Kudat; and Kampung Jawi-Jawi in Kota Belud.

Meanwhile, in Pahang, the EMCO involves the Tringkap area in Cameron Highlands as well as in the area around Jerantut town.

“The implementation of the EMCO is to restrict the movement and spread of infection from risk areas out of the locality, as well as to conduct early detection of cases so that they can be isolated as soon as possible,” he said in a statement on the Movement Control Order (MCO) and EMCO today.

Ismail Sabri said that the decision to impose the EMCO was made after a risk assessment was carried out with various agencies in the MCO Technical Committee, and on the advice of the Ministry of Health (MOH).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here